Skip to content

Plant Market Day Trip

February 5, 2010

Outside of Sunborne Wholesale Nursery, lots of Agave and Aloe.

Outside of Sunborne Wholesale Nursery, lots of Agave and Aloe.

I took the day off yesterday intending to do a little gardening relaxation.  Turns out rain was in the forecast.  I decided to change my plans and check out some local plant markets around San Francisco with Megan.

Our first stop was San Francisco Flower Mart.  This wholesale plant market carries anything and everything plant related.  Seriously, they have it all from found driftwood to plastic containers; from artificial decorative fruits to live Olive Trees (Olea europaea) bearing fruit; from cut flowers to live plants in bloom.  Going here makes me feel like a kid in a candy story, and gets my creative juices flowing.

Inside Sunborne.

Inside Sunborne.

SF Flower Mart is one of only 5 grower owned wholesale flower/plant markets in the USA.  The first part of the morning is dedicated to membership only buying, but SF Mart opens its doors to the public after 10AM Mon – Sat.

Next we hit Sunborne.  This was my first time here, but Megan is a veteran of this wholesale market.  Their expansive grounds carries mainly green foliage and houseplants up to 10+ feet tall, but they are getting into succulents which is my passion.

Finally, Megan and I headed the NORCAL Spring Trade Show.  Two notable mentions of the show were:  Phytopod by Vertical Home Gardens.  I would have loved to take some photos, but asked that I did not in order to protect their new hot product.  The Phytopod is a cool little 2′ x 2′ footprint barrel-like vertical garden containing 20 sq. ft of space.  I think they are on the right track…and Succulent Gardens out of Castroville, CA.

Succulent Wall from SG Plants

Succulent Wall from SG Plants

They also have two vertical succulent designs, and a great selection of plants to fill them.  We will have to schedule a time to visit next time we head down to Big Sur.

All and all a good rainy day, and now we have more f0odder for projects.

More vertical walls from SG Plants

More vertical walls from SG Plants

More plants for more projects!

More plants for more projects!

– Matti Far Out Flora

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 12:45 pm

    I just saw this feed from Sunset on SG Plants listed above. Great article.

    http://www.sunset.com/garden/backyard-projects/diy-vertical-succulent-garden-project-00400000063442/

  2. February 5, 2010 4:30 pm

    Love yr pics. The aloes are great – don’t they just echo the colour of the wall behind, like a gardening book would say? :)
    I just LOVE LOVE LOVE the vertical wall.

    Happy gardening, Ev

  3. February 5, 2010 5:07 pm

    Can I come shopping with you guys sometime? :)
    Oh and about your comment on my blog that the 5th and 6th pups that your Agave americana is producing getting a little irritating…when you just can’t take it anymore I will be happy to take them off your hands! Anytime….

    • February 5, 2010 9:34 pm

      Sure!!! We feel pretty darn lucky to be so close to so many great nurseries. The sandy well drained soil is a plus too! I know I shouldn’t complain about the Agave babies… I don’t think I even knew what Agave was when I first moved to SF from Wisconsin :)

  4. February 5, 2010 8:03 pm

    Darn, missed you guys at Nor Cal! I loved the Phytopod too (but wasn’t so shy about taking a picture, check out the SFGS Facebook Page!) Glad you got to see Succulent Gardens too; Robin is awesome.

  5. February 6, 2010 7:12 pm

    I am definitely going to try and replicate that succulent wall on my own… awesome photo! I am a succulent gardener so I appreciate your post! thanks. nadia

  6. February 8, 2010 4:06 am

    great succulent pics

  7. February 20, 2010 1:14 pm

    Nice pictures.. Succulents make really good looking gardens!

Trackbacks

  1. Box of Succulents « Far Out Flora's Blog
  2. Houseplanty Happiness « Far Out Flora's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

