Skip to content

Crate Metamorphosis

March 18, 2010

I rescued this shipping crate before it became landfill.  Below is the end product, but there are some before shots too.

Ocean Blue Plant Stand now Completed!

Ocean Blue Plant Stand now Completed!

This project has been lingering for awhile, and I finally tackled it this past weekend.  Below is the wooden shipping box that has been staring me in the face for weeks.

Shipping Crate saved from the landfill.

Shipping Crate saved from the landfill.

There were about 20 screws holding this thing together.  After getting it open, I found a bunch of black foamy packing material, brown paper, etc.  Whatever was in there was well protected.

The crate was stripped apart, contents emptied.

The crate was stripped apart, contents emptied.

After one coat of paint, I thought to myself, “Man…now it just looks like a big blue box…not very attractive“.  To add some spark, I painted the edge a rusty orange.  Now that is something I can live with.  BTW, the paint was a free score on Craigslist.  Some guy was moving and purging of a bunch of art supplies.

Painted, and installed in its new home.

Painted, and installed in its new home.

Megan took charge and installed it into its new home.  It feels good to check this off my to do list.  Yeah!

– Matti Far Out Flora

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 2:29 pm

    The orange edge is a nice touch. The bright red supermarket trolley is nice too!

  2. March 18, 2010 2:35 pm

    I like these colors, gives things a pop.

  3. March 18, 2010 5:04 pm

    This is so cool! Love the colors you got, and the way you got them too!!!

  4. March 18, 2010 6:10 pm

    Very nice!

  5. March 18, 2010 7:21 pm

    I’m loving that blue! Great color choice..

  6. March 18, 2010 7:54 pm

    Oh my God, your yard is amazing. You commented on my chicken post in Broke-Ass Stuart. I highly recommend you get chickens if only because your coop would have a kick ass paint job that I want to see pictures of.

    • March 18, 2010 8:39 pm

      Ooooh! I never even thought about the cool paint job on the coop. Another reason why we need chickens.

Trackbacks

  1. DIY Succulent Table « Far Out Flora's Blog
  2. Studio G, Garden Design & Landscape Design Inspiration » Before & After: Far Out Flora’s Crate Garden
  3. Tweets that mention Crate Metamorphosis « Far Out Flora's Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

