Skip to content

Ditching the Dietes and Rosemary

April 28, 2010

A couple weeks ago I noticed a big branch of the rosemary had broken off. Right then I decided it needed to go. It’s one of the few original plants in the back. We’ve hacked away at it to make room for more plants, tied it to the fence to keep it from flopping over. This weekend it was time to go.

Another plant on my crap list was our Dietes vegeta or Fort Night Lily. I think it knew we were going to pull it out. The dang thing barely flowered, but in the last week it developed five or six flowers. Our next door neighbors who have been establishing a new garden gave it a nice new home.

Container fun instead! I’ve had a Correa pulchella and Grevillea waiting for homes for a couple weeks. Hope they’ll be happy.

The cute little Lotus maculatus ‘Gold Flash’ has a new home too.

Still need to move the mirror to balance things out a little, but I don’t miss the Rosemary or Dietes. We have a new doggie neighbor who’s still learning to stay out of garden. The cement blocks will go away eventually.

Max and his new girlfriend Marley.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 10:06 am

    Is this your back yard or side yard facing a sidewalk? Either way, it’s looking really good!

  2. April 28, 2010 10:12 am

    Wow great shots of the thousands of amazing little plants you guys have tucked in there! It’s so liberating to get rid of a plant that you just don’t like any more. It took me a week of working up to it but I recently got rid of an ill placed Hebe. Everything around it looked so much better once I did. Good job you guys!

    • April 28, 2010 1:08 pm

      Thanks Loree. I have to say that Megan is much better about calling out the unwanted than I am…but everything we do it…the garden gets better.

  3. April 28, 2010 1:12 pm

    Very cool! I have a few dietes I need to yank as well….

  4. April 28, 2010 2:42 pm

    I love all the variety along that fence. And the dog photo made me laugh out loud. Very cute, happy dogs.

  5. April 28, 2010 7:45 pm

    It’s so exciting when the plants start knitting together, finding the little nooks to weave in amongst each other, just as your border is doing now. It’s looking wonderful. I was treating a rosemary the same way in the front garden, cutting it off the dyckia until the rosemary finally just looked absurd. So I yanked it. Very liberating! (Those hounds look liberated as well!)

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Birthday Megan « Far Out Flora's Blog
  2. Succulicious « Far Out Flora's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

