Skip to content

Want To Win Succulents?

December 6, 2010

Gnomes getting busy

We spent the rainy Sunday afternoon shoving succulent cuttings in to glass things. I cut a bunch of a stuff from the backyard Saturday pre-rain. The gnomes had some fun before we got going. We keep telling them to lay off the beer, but they don’t listen.

 

Globes of goodness

I bought some glass globe tea light holders at CB2. Hoping they can hold the extra weight of all that stuff.We’ll find out.

 

Abandoned car

Beercan parking lot

Nothing’s classier than beer cans and broken down cars. Here are a more “natural” terrarium we made.

Recycled glass chunks

 

Glasses of fun

Matti made these adorable little terrariums out of little glasses. His juxtaposition of the ballerina and shotgun on the right is truly brilliant, and a little scary.

 

Want these?

So here’s where the succulents for you part comes in. We saved some cuttings from out back for one lucky succulent junkie. It’s a little bit of everything. We’ll also throw in a little glass bowl with a couple of weird little plastic things to put in to it. You can check out all our terrarium madness pics on flickr here (we made pirate & Hawaiian terrariums too). All you need to do to enter is post a picture of a succulent on our facebook page by Saturday, December 11th, 5PM PST We’ll use some sort of randomizer to choose a winner. WARNING: it’s quite likely you’ll receive more plants than pictured above :)

*Sadly we’re not able to ship to those in exotic locations (you gotta live in the US with the exception of Hawaii). Hawaii doesn’t like unknown plants coming in, but hey you live in Hawaii so we don’t feel too bad.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 6:22 pm

    Oh god I knew this day would come someday. I am going to have to sign up for facebook. I think hell might have just frozen over.

    BTW all of your little globes and glasses totally rock! I love the abandoned car the best!

    • December 6, 2010 6:46 pm

      You can do it Loree! I’d be happy to help you create a danger garden page :) We’re still going to send you spring aeoniums.

  2. December 6, 2010 7:15 pm

    Oh my goodness! Can these be any cuter? Where to you buy those gnomes from? I must get some immediately! They are way too cute.

  3. December 6, 2010 8:42 pm

    These are the GREATEST things I’ve seen in 2010. I especially like the idea of you guys digging around in the rainy garden. Sadly, those gnomes do not listen when it comes to beer.

  4. reubix1 permalink
    December 6, 2010 9:04 pm

    Fantabulousness!

  5. December 6, 2010 9:18 pm

    Photo uploaded! Fingers crossed.

    Your plantings are fabulous! Well done.

    And thanks to you, my wife has discovered cupcake toppers, which I fear are going to start appearing in my plants any minute now.

  6. December 7, 2010 11:16 am

    Brilliant!

  7. December 7, 2010 5:59 pm

    “Shoving succulents into glass things…” I love it!

  8. Steve permalink
    December 8, 2010 2:01 pm

    forgot notify box

  9. December 8, 2010 3:42 pm

    I HEART Shotgun Ballerina. And abandoned car. I’m inspired to do one, too…. I’m thinking I’ll start with Yoda in Brandy snifter. . .!

  10. December 8, 2010 8:55 pm

    Lovely. That is a lot of terrariums. Are they Christmas presents for family and friends? If yes, can I be a friend, please.

  11. December 9, 2010 11:36 am

    Those are awesome! I am making similar terrariums with the same CB2 globes for many xmas presents. I’m using a combination of air plants and succulents, but I’m out of succulent cuttings :(

    I posted a pic of my awesome flowering lithops on your fb page, though I probably should have done it as my gardening user and not my regular user. Oh well.

  12. December 10, 2010 4:12 pm

    Oh no! The link to the cupcake toppers….am I really about to buy a bunch of tiny plastic, never-biodegradable things merely because they’re cute and would look great stuck amidst carnivorous plants (as they do poking out from your succulents)?? I think I am.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Want To Win Succulents? « Far Out Flora's Blog -- Topsy.com
  2. A Bleak Neighborhood Is Revived « Far Out Flora's Blog
  3. And the Winner IS « Far Out Flora's Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

