Skip to content

Splendid Strybing

February 20, 2011

Bomarea sp.

It’s been awhile since we’ve posted anything from the SF Botanical Garden. Last week at my docent training class I heard that folks who don’t think there should be a fee to visit the garden call it “Strybing”, and those that do call it “San Francisco Botanical Garden”. I’d never heard this before, but out of pure laziness I usually call it Strybing.

Brugmansia sanguinea “Scarlet Angel’s Trumpet”

I’m obsessed with Brugmansia sanguinea. So obsessed I planted one in a big container out back a couple weeks ago. I’m  worried it’s going to want more water than I’m going to remember to give it come summer. Apparently it will drop leaves if it dries out. I think my love will help me keep it alive.

Magnificent Magnolia campbellii

Did you know that the very first Magnolia campbellii to bloom in a U.S. garden was right here back in 1940? True story. It’s a precocious bloomer, which means it blooms before any leaves appear. All Magnolias are pollinated by beetles. Thanks to my docent training class yesterday, I learned lots of cool things about Magnolias. This guy is native to the Himalayas.

Aloes & Crataegus mexicana

The Aloe arborescens are still putting on a decent show. The fruit covered Crataegus mexicana in the background is quite a sight too. Native to Mexico, the fruits are edible and used to make a traditional hot Christmas punch. Another random fact from wikipedia: “Due to its high pectin content, the fruit is industrially processed to extract pectin for the food, cosmetic, pharmaceutical, textile and metal industries.”

Salvia gesneriiflora ‘Tequila’

I don’t have anything exciting to say about this Salvia except that it’s sweet. Happy Sunday!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2011 4:37 pm

    Happy Sunday to you both too.

  2. February 20, 2011 8:42 pm

    I love that Bomarea and the Aloe arborescens. Maybe I really need to move to a warmer place … or make enough money to buy and maintain a giant greenhouse.

  3. phyte club katie permalink
    February 21, 2011 4:42 pm

    I’m so glad you’re in the class! Hope you’re liking it. This means, come May, we’ll be able to do Interpretation Stations together!

    • February 21, 2011 7:11 pm

      I’m loving it. We’re going to have the baddest ass interpretative stations ever!

  4. gabev23 permalink
    March 3, 2011 7:46 pm

    cant wait to visit Strybing this month and stop by SF garden show as well!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

