Skip to content

Houseplanty Happiness

March 20, 2011

Nepenthes sanguinea

Mister Nepenthes sanguinea is getting huge! He’s been popping out pitchers fairly consistently, but they’re get bigger and bigger. I just busted out the tape measure, and they’re six inches long! Maybe the ant feed back in October has something to do with his success? Here’s another picture of Matti holding him up for scale. We picked him up probably two years ago during our annual summer day trip to California Carnivores in Sebastopol (if you live in the Bay Area you MUST go).  It’s an amazing place! I was a little nervous about growing Nepenthes at first. Maybe because they’re so cool you’d think they have to be hard to grow. We mist em’ every once in awhile, and make sure their little trays don’t dry out, but that’s it.

Cool Cryptanthus

When Matti picked out this Cryptanthus during last year’s birthday plant extravaganza to wholesale interior plant wonderland I wasn’t thrilled with it, but hey it was his birthday. Now, I absolutely LOVE it, and want more! It’s a terrestrial bromeliad. They come in all kinds of funky colors. Ours is looking a little moist in this picture, since he just had a Neem shower. There were a couple evil Mealybugs hanging out on it. Mealybugs, scale, indoor aphid outbreaks, ants you name it we’ve had it. I used to freak the heck out about all these pests, but a little Neem every once in awhile seems to keep them under control. For more info about “Earth Stars” check out the Cryptanthus Society’s culture sheet.

Euphorbia decaryi looking alive!

Here’s one that Matti’s never been fond of. We picked him up at a Succulent Society meeting over a year ago, and I have to admit there are times when it has looked a little dead. It’s looking exceptionally green right now. We should be seeing some little flowers on it soon.  It’s a weird Madagascar native. I still like it.

Orbea semota v. litvivia

Here’s another weirdo we picked up at a SF Succulent Society meeting last January. I just googled the name, and the only info that popped up were our flickr picture of it and the blog post about bringing it home. The litvivia variation must be rare.  The only info I’ve been able to find on it, is that it’s native to Tanzania, Kenya and Rwanda. We haven’t had any flower action on it, but when we do it’s should be exciting. It’s closely related to Stapelias known for their star-shaped, rotten flesh perfumed flowers. If anyone out there has any additional info about this guy we’d love to hear about it.

Mystery Sanseveria

Sanseverias are crazy EASY! They come in all kinds of shapes, sizes and colors! You’re probably familiar with the strappy green and yellow one commonly known as “Mother-in-law’s Tongue,” popular in the 70’s. This weird one came from someone at the SF Bromeliad Society tagless (Clarke/PATSP help!) My best guess is: Sansevieria suffruticosa.
We’ve got more pictures of our indoor babies right here on flickr.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2011 8:35 am

    You might have better luck asking Karen715 at Life Among the Leaves; she has a few of the species Sansevierias. To me it kind of looks like S. hargesiana, but that’s partly because it’s obviously not S. cylindrica or S. trifasciata, and S. hargesiana is the only other species of Sansevieria I have.

  2. March 20, 2011 9:15 am

    Yay for weirdos! Nice Nepenthes there – I really love that species shade of orange on the traps!

  3. Clarke de Mornay permalink
    March 20, 2011 12:05 pm

    I think it is Sanseveria bella ‘Mutamo’ , S. suffruticosa looks very similar, but I betting on Mutamo.

    • March 23, 2011 7:05 pm

      Thanks Clarke! Only time will tell I guess. A lot of time :)

  4. March 22, 2011 1:30 pm

    cool collection guys :)

  5. March 22, 2011 2:14 pm

    Your Nepenthes sanguinea is gorgeous. I know you say they’re not so hard to grow, but the pitchers on mine were gone not too long after I brought it home (I think this was due to my infrequent watering, my bad…..!). Or maybe I was just shy because I thought they kind of looked like condoms hanging from it, and this uncharacteristically freaked me out a little. Despite that, I do keep hoping they’ll come back, though….

    • March 23, 2011 7:04 pm

      They like lots o’ water. We keep ours sitting in a dish of at least an inch of it. We’re paranoid, and use rain/distilled water. Carnies can be a little sensitive :)

  6. March 23, 2011 7:01 am

    Great collection. I’m fascinated by the look of your Euphorbia and your Orbea. I wonder if I can find those specific species locally. Weirdo plants are my kind of plants.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

