Skip to content

Outerlands Succulent Gardens

March 23, 2011

Lewd Aeonium

We blogged about this amazing stretch of succulent awesomeness about a year ago. I’ve been in love with it ever since we moved to San Francisco. If you find yourself in the outerlands (Outer Sunset) of San Francisco, take a spin down the Great Highway frontage road near Rivera.

Agave & friends

Anyone have any guesses about this hot little Agave in the middle of an Aeonium, Senecio, Dudleya party? I’m guessing Agave scabra, but really have no clue.

Agave attenuatas are still looking sweet

Agave parryi cuties

Inspired by the neighbors?

Just a half block down from the Greatest Highway Garden we spotted the patch o’succulents happening. Hurray for fellow beach dwellers doing something with their front “lawns”! Just because we live in the foggiest place on earth, does not mean we can’t grow cool things. We have excellent drainage.

Name that Kalanchoe

This beauty is a couple blocks south of the gardens above, but every time we drive by I make Matti slow down so I can ogle this fuzzy creature. What the heck Kalanchoe is it? I’m guessing Kalanchoe beharensis, only after a brief internet search.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 8:04 am

    Good god that’s just a big bunch of gorgeous!

  2. April permalink
    March 23, 2011 9:39 am

    Lovely- and it sounds like you need an”I Brake for Succulents” bumper sticker.

  3. jerry permalink
    March 23, 2011 11:59 am

    i would give up my mature woodland garden for a succulent garden. anybody looking to trade?

  4. March 23, 2011 12:19 pm

    the phallic one is my fave

  5. Kaveh permalink
    March 23, 2011 12:49 pm

    Yup looks like Kalanchoe beharensis to me.

  6. March 23, 2011 2:09 pm

    Seconding beharensis but wondering about that agave. The shape looks a lot like A. guiengola.

  7. March 23, 2011 2:25 pm

    I know that Kalanchoe. It is K. beharensis. Some of my friends call it “the ugly plant”, but I really like it’s style so I sell it in my shop. Too bad it won’t make it planted in the ground in Ft. Worth, Texas. BTW I love Far Out Flora. Thanks for giving me something good to read on the web!

  8. March 23, 2011 6:17 pm

    Thanks for all the comments and positive ID on the Kalanchoe (Alyce, tell your friends they’re wrong, it’s awesome)! I just looked up Agave guiengola, and it looks like it’s a good possibility. We definitely have to Zazzle up ourselves a “We Brake For Succulents” bumper sticker. This garden has been a big inspiration since moving to San Francisco. I wish we knew more about it.

  9. March 24, 2011 4:18 pm

    I’m not sure what type of Kalanchoe it is… but they are fabulous. I have some growing in client’s gardens… they are tricky to propagate from in my experience.

  10. March 25, 2011 10:23 am

    Such lusciousness… Its definitely Kalanchoe beharensis, which I love, The agave does look a lot like A. guiengola but I am not certain

  11. March 28, 2011 10:27 pm

    Succulents sure love it where you live! You must have the perfect weather. Sometimes it gets way too hot for some of mine. Thank goodness for my gazebo. I think I am going to add another umbrella for another area! Even some cactus burn! Awesome shots!

  12. April 1, 2011 6:08 am

    These are really amazing gardens beautifully photographed. Colors of green are astounding. Very cool.

  13. April 5, 2011 4:49 am

    What a great neighborhood you live in! I agree with April – you need to create that bumper sticker!

  14. April 13, 2011 8:16 pm

    the kalanchoe beharensis looks like one called “Fang”
    leaves get bumpy
    it is a fabulous plant but hates cold

    • April 14, 2011 6:20 pm

      I think it’s ‘Fang’, too! Luckily it never gets too cold here next to the beach :)

Trackbacks

  1. Agave | Find Me A Cure

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

