Skip to content

May Bloom Day Merriment

May 14, 2011

Viola Village

Hurray for May Bloom Day! Thanks to May Dreams Gardens for hosting Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day! Our backyard is the bloomiest it’s EVER been. People at work have said I’ve crossed over to “Flower Floozy” land, and I think they might be right even though I keep denying it. This container is full of Viola ‘Tiger Eyes’, Viola nigra ‘Bowles Black’, Viola ‘Etain’ with Satureja douglasii (Yerba Buena) creeping around. There’s some Aeoniums hanging out, too.

Echium wildpretii continues to rock!

Container experiment

This is our blue/orange container I planted back in early April. I’m liking it so far. There’s a bumble bee checking out Linaria reticulata
‘Flamenco’
. I’m hooked on the Cerinthe retorta and Cheiranthus x allionii.

Ageratum corymbosum

Echeveria amoena adorableness

Digitalis obscura "Sunset Foxglove"

Sedum angelina blooming

Fuchsia boliviana

Lathyrus odoratus 'Cupani'

Fuchsia 'Fanfare'

Papaver commutatum 'Ladybird'

Othonna capensis ‘Little Pickles’

Clarkia breweri

Phygelius capensis ‘Magenta’

Calendula officinalis ‘Bronzed Beauty’

Dudleya & Aeoniums

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2011 10:55 pm

    I took one look at your photo of Echium wildprettii and immediately guessed that you must be in San Francisco. You’ve definitely achieved a “sense of place”! Your foxglove and poppy photos are charmingly framed, and I’m not sure whether any photo of that Ageratum could fail to impress.

  2. May 15, 2011 2:02 am

    Lovely blooms & gorgeous photos :)

  3. prometheus permalink
    May 15, 2011 4:10 am

    love that papaver bud opening.

  4. May 15, 2011 5:18 am

    There’s a lot of gorgeousness going on here. I like your whimsical garden art too.

  5. May 15, 2011 6:25 am

    I love viola ‘Bowles Black’–excellent color. I now have it seeding all over.

  6. May 15, 2011 7:19 am

    Merriment indeed! Beautiful, happy flowers, all of which I enjoyed.

  7. May 15, 2011 9:38 am

    What a nice post from a very different garden! I like your Calendula and Sedum most!
    Thank you very much for participate the german GBBD!
    Have a nice evening!
    Gesine

  8. May 15, 2011 9:38 am

    Echium , always seem to see that one in all the California post. Pretty cool!

  9. May 15, 2011 12:20 pm

    My Echium wildprettii is doing its thing too but I didn’t add it to my bloomday post. How can you not be impressed by that plant?! And your bowl with the the yerba buena violas is pretty darned cute too. Happy bloomday!

  10. May 15, 2011 1:07 pm

    Of all the amazing blooms, I’m zeroing in on othonna and Digitalis obscura. Need to get those two. Happy bloom day!

  11. May 15, 2011 2:16 pm

    What interesting blooms and so different from Maine! Thanks for warming me up on a cold wet day. So nice to connect with you!

  12. May 15, 2011 2:28 pm

    This post doesn’t exactly make a strong case that you’re not a flower floozy. Lots of great flowers and I have a feeling that Echium wildprettii might be an indicator species for flower floozies. Can’t get much more over the top. I’ve always wanted to grow one.

  13. May 15, 2011 8:11 pm

    I too am impressed with your post… the photography is great and I particularly like the many succulents! This is great! Larry

  14. May 15, 2011 8:35 pm

    Beautiful shots of your sedums.

  15. May 15, 2011 11:10 pm

    I really like your unusual plants, especially the golden sedum angelina. It’s a nice contrast to the large succulent nearby. And a great photo of the emerging ‘ladybird’ poppy!

  16. gardeningasylum permalink
    May 16, 2011 2:44 am

    Oh my, those things that won’t grow in CT – echium, echeveria, excelling in elegance!

    • May 16, 2011 7:39 am

      Back in WI, we were able to get a couple sedums and semps to grow, but nothing lie out here. Now we just can grow this thing that need a cold period or heat.

  17. May 16, 2011 3:54 am

    You just reminded me that I have ‘Bowles’ Black’ in bloom too, and forgot to post it! I like it your combination with ‘Tiger Eyes’ And love the succulent plantings – so many interesting colors and textures.

  18. May 16, 2011 12:10 pm

    Wow… what a great selection of blooming plants! I love them. However it was Calendula officinalis ‘Bronzed Beauty’ that has stolen my heart here! Great photos :-)

    Happy Bloom Day from Scotland :-)

    • May 17, 2011 6:26 pm

      I’ve been getting some crap from local gardeners about planting the Calendula, but I love it!

  19. May 16, 2011 8:33 pm

    you win!

  20. May 18, 2011 12:09 am

    Your blooms all look outstanding! As usual Matti and Megan your garden is beautiful. Hey, where did spring go. We are getting dumped on and a big hail storm damaged a bunch of my succulents. But they will survive!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

